Compassion or Selfishness?

I’ve been thinking about how I would jump in and start blogging again. Where do I start? How do I plan out my posts? Where to begin? … It’s been such a long time.

After this week’s tornado tragedy in Oklahoma, I got to thinking. I felt that I wanted to share my thoughts with you, so this is where I will start.

“The Most Important Things in Life Aren’t Things” ~ from Moore, OK debris. Image links to Pinterest source.

I don’t know anyone in Moore, OK. I used to live in the Tulsa area, so I do know a lot of people close to the action. Since the devastation is close to an area where I used to live, and I know people who know people affected, I couldn’t help but look at my children and think, “what if…?” Then it dawned on me – how selfish!

Moore, OK – May 2013. Photo links to source.

(Let me fill you in on my thought process here).

Are we selfish even amidst our compassion for others? Do we only care or give it a second thought if it’s our family, our state, or our country? Tragedy happens every day. Yet, are we only bothered if it’s highly publicized? Or, like me, do you find that you only empathize if it’s close to home?

And then I’m reminded of our own depravity as human beings. That right in the middle of our compassion and empathy for others, our sin nature shines bright, and selfishness ensues. We still only think of ourselves. My Feelings. My loved ones. Me. Me. Me.

Romans 3:10-12

It’s always a good thing to be reminded of our need for a savior. Thank you, Lord, for Your grace. Strip me of all selfishness, I pray. Help me to have compassion for those I cannot see — a true compassion that’s without selfishness or pride. Amen.

Lots of love,
Mary

Linked up at http://cornerstoneconfessions.com

4 thoughts on “Compassion or Selfishness?

  1. Robin Lindberg

    So true, Mary. Thank you for the reminder. Just yesterday I heard multiple sirens and prayed that it wasn’t anyone I knew. In God’s neverending kindness and patience with me, the Spirit immediately convicted me, “But they’re known and loved by someone.” I prayed for them just the same. I join you, sister, in asking for forgiveness of my selfishness.

    “He must increase, but I must decrease.” John 3:30

    Reply
  2. Shawn Lita Garcia

    Insight is key… The awareness of your selfishness is God working in you. He convicts you and gives you loving awareness. We are by nature human but that means we are bound by the law of physics. You can physically only handle through the power of God what He has given you. A loving spirit for your family, friends, neighbors, This growing blog community. We all love you and are inspired by your Christ like spirit, words of encouragement, artwork, imagination and craftiness with renov of furniture.

    And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth for ever.

    1 John 2: 17

    Kind regards,

    Shawn Lita

    P.S. missed you and your work.

    Reply
  3. sharon

    What an eye opener…we christians are constantly growing and learning. Its great to see you back! Take care.

    Reply
  4. Louise Montemayor

    Sweet Mary, thank you for sharing your thoughts hita. They remind us of what is really important and true. 1Jn 4:7,8 “Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. The one who does not love does not know God, for God is love” I am so thankful for our San Tan Bible Church. We are truly blessed beyond words for the amazing “one another service” that is demonstrated through love and actions on a daily basis to many. I will never forget how our church body reached out to us while my beloved Albert was going through his lung transplant. People didn’t even know us except through Margie & Clay, yet we were showered with encouraging letters and cards and even gift baskets while we were in SF. And now as my beautiful Margie is in the battle of her life, we continue to see an awesome out pouring of love for her and Pastor Clay, Zachary, Rebekah & Jadon. The prayers of everyone have been such an encouragement to all of us. I am so thankful the Lord has placed me here at this time. I thank God for all of you.

    Reply

Leave a comment